close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Practical Handsewing 101 Workshop

Register 4 Seats Remaining

Practical Handsewing 101 Workshop

Sew holes, buttons, and much more!

2022-12-07 14:30:00 2022-12-07 17:30:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Practical Handsewing 101 Workshop Georgetown Branch - Maker Lab

Wednesday, December 07
2:30pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-12-07 14:30:00 2022-12-07 17:30:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis Practical Handsewing 101 Workshop Learn basics hand sewing, learn how to apply them into everyday sewing situations, and make your own plushie keychain. Georgetown Branch - Maker Lab

Georgetown Branch

Maker Lab

Learn basics hand sewing, learn how to apply them into everyday sewing situations, and make your own plushie keychain.

Come to the Maker Lab at the Georgetown Library to learn the basics of hand sewing, apply those skills to everyday sewing situations (buttons, holes, hems, and more!), and if time permits, create a felt donut plushie keychain (if time does not permit, keychain supplies & directions can be taken home). All supplies provided.

Registration Required: Limited to 4 participants. Room capacity limit: 7 people including Maker Lab Guide. **

**Each individual present in the lab (active participant or guest of an active participant) needs to be registered. If registering a non-participating guest, please note this in the comments section of the reservation. First names of each active participant are required to create logins prior to arrival. Non-registered individuals will not be allowed to stay in the lab throughout the program. 

From the Maker Lab Rules:

 No open footwear such as sandals or flip-flops.

 No loose or dangling scarves, jewelry, ribbons, or long hair.

 Parent/guardians guests of children under 12 must be present the entire time. 

All technology, tool, and machine users must sign a release form. Parents/guardians of minors must co-sign form alongside their child.

This program is intended for tween, teen, and adult ages. Register for all programs on our Events
page, on the ACPL mobile app, or by calling the branch. In an effort to be courteous to our presenters,
audience members, and waitlisted registrants:

• Register all attendees: children, adults, teens and caregivers.
• Please arrive prior to the program’s start time. Registering for a program will not hold your
seat after the program’s designated start time.
• If you are unable to attend, please cancel your registration online or by calling the branch

Event always full, younger learner, better in a 1-on-1 setting, or looking for a tour of our facility for a group? 

Reach out to Maker Lab Guide Kerstin Glaess to book a 1-on-1 appointment. kglaess@acpl.info or 260-421-1200 ext. 4407


 

Georgetown Branch

Phone: 260-421-1320

Hours
Mon, Nov 28 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 29 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 30 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Dec 01 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Dec 02 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Dec 03 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Dec 04 Closed

About the library

The Georgetown branch is home to a full-service maker lab with a large collection of tools that customers can use to create things. The branch features a public fax machine, study rooms, a meeting room, and a popular collection of materials that includes video games.  

Upcoming events

Mon, Dec 05, All day
Georgetown Branch
This event is full

Mon, Dec 05, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Mon, Dec 05, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
This event is full

Mon, Dec 05, 11:15am - 11:45am
Meeting Room

Mon, Dec 05, 2:30pm - 5:30pm
Maker Lab

Mon, Dec 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Maker Lab

Mon, Dec 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 06, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Activity Room

Wed, Dec 07, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 07, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Activity Room

Wed, Dec 07, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 07, 2:30pm - 5:30pm
Maker Lab

Wed, Dec 07, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Study Room C

Thu, Dec 08, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Rescheduled
Thu, Dec 08, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
New date Monday, December 05, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Dec 09, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room

Sat, Dec 10, 10:15am - 1:00pm
Maker Lab
This event is full

Mon, Dec 12, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Mon, Dec 12, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 5 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 12, 11:15am - 11:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 5 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 12, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Maker Lab

Mon, Dec 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 13, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 6 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 14, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 14, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Wednesday, December 7 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 14, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Maker Lab
This event is full

Thu, Dec 15, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 8 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 15, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Meeting Room

Rescheduled
Thu, Dec 15, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
New date Monday, December 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Dec 16, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Friday, December 9 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 19, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Mon, Dec 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 12 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 19, 11:15am - 11:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 12 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 19, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 20, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 13 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 21, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 21, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Wednesday, December 14 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 21, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 21, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Maker Lab
This event is full

Thu, Dec 22, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 15 2022 at 9:00am

Rescheduled
Thu, Dec 22, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
New date Monday, December 19, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Dec 27, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 20 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 28, 10:00am - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 28, 10:15am - 10:45am
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Wednesday, December 21 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 29, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 22 2022 at 9:00am

Rescheduled
Thu, Dec 29, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
New date Monday, January 09, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Dec 30, 10:15am - 10:45am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Friday, December 23 2022 at 9:00am

Rescheduled
Mon, Jan 02, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
New date Thursday, January 05, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jan 03, 2:30pm - 4:30pm
Maker Lab

Tue, Jan 03, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Activity Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 27 2022 at 9:00am