close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: First Steps in Music

Register 20 Seats Remaining

First Steps in Music

with Fort Wayne Children's Choir

2022-12-01 10:30:00 2022-12-01 11:00:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis First Steps in Music New Haven Branch - Meeting Room

Thursday, December 01
10:30am - 11:00am

Add to Calendar 2022-12-01 10:30:00 2022-12-01 11:00:00 America/Indiana/Indianapolis First Steps in Music Become tuneful, artful, and beautiful babies and toddlers! Play and sing together, helping your child to build singing, vocabulary and movement skills while exploring the expressive quality of music. New Haven Branch - Meeting Room

New Haven Branch

Meeting Room

Become tuneful, artful, and beautiful babies and toddlers! Play and sing together, helping your child to build singing, vocabulary and movement skills while exploring the expressive quality of music.

The goal of First Steps in Music is to enable all participants to reach their full potential in singing, vocabulary, and movement skills, with an emphasis on developing sensitivity to the expressive qualities in music. Each class is designed to be playful and enjoyable to children, while providing a carefully planned curriculum that includes developmentally appropriate activities. Children are not taught formally about the specifics of music, but rather they play with music through a series of eight well-rounded activities based on the First Steps in Music curriculum offered by our partners from the Fort Wayne Children's Choir.


Through the 8 basic activities included in classes based on the First Steps in Music curriculum, children and their parents/caregiver experience singing, creative movement, simple instruments, finger-plays and more with the help of the rich collection of traditional songs and rhymes from past generations. Example activities for First Steps in Music include: pitch exploration, song fragments, simple songs, arioso, child-centered tunes, song tales, movement exploration, movement for form and expression, and movement with the beat.

This program is intended for children. Register for all programs on our Events page, on the ACPL mobile app, or by calling the branch. In an effort to be courteous to our presenters, audience members, and waitlisted registrants:

  • Register all attendees: children, adults and caregivers.
  • Please arrive prior to the program’s start time.  Registering for a program will not hold your seat after the program’s designated start time.
  • If you are unable to attend, please cancel your registration online or by calling the branch.

AGE GROUP: | Toddlers | Babies |

EVENT TYPE: | Storytime | Arts, Culture, & Entertainment |

TAGS: | Storytime | Music |

New Haven Branch

Phone: 260-421-1345

Hours
Mon, Nov 21 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 22 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 23 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 24 Closed
(Closed for Thanksgiving Day)
Fri, Nov 25 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 26 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 27 Closed

About the library

The New Haven branch received a brand new building in 2004, relocating from its old location on the corner of Ann St. and Main St. The library is surrounded by houses and is within walking distance of four schools. The library houses many of the previous years of the New Haven High School yearbooks and many books and primary resources on New Haven history. Special collection: Board games  

Upcoming events

Mon, Nov 28, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Nov 28, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room

Canceled
Tue, Nov 29, 10:30am - 11:00am

Tue, Nov 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 29, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room

Canceled
Wed, Nov 30, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Dec 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Canceled
Thu, Dec 01, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Dec 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, November 29 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, November 29 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 06, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, November 29 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 07, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Wednesday, November 30 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 1 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 08, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 1 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 12, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 5 2022 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 12, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Monday, December 5 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 6 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 6 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 13, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 6 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Wednesday, December 7 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 15, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 8 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Registration opens Thursday, December 8 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 13 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 20, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 13 2022 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 21, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Wednesday, December 14 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 22, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 15 2022 at 9:00am

Thu, Dec 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room
Registration opens Thursday, December 15 2022 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room
Registration opens Tuesday, December 20 2022 at 9:00am